Monday, March 8, 2010

Star Trek Franchise Wins First Ever Oscar

JJ Abrams' Star Trek achieved a goal none of the previous ten films were able to achieve, an Oscar win. The film won Best Makeup for Marney Burman, Mindy Hall, and Joel Harlow. Based on the outdated information at Memory-Alpha (missing Star Trek's 2010 nominations), the Star Trek franchise has received 14 total nominations over its entire history. The film did lose in its three other Oscar nominated categories of Sound Editing, Sound Mixing, and Visual Effects. The full list of winners can be found here.

Here is the text of their acceptance speech:
Mindy Hall: I don't want to step on your tail. It's hard to follow that face. We thank you, the Academy. We thank J.J. Abrams, your vision inspired us, your energy kept us going and your insistence on perfection brought us here. We thank Bad Robot, Paramount Pictures, we felt your support every day.

We had an amazing staff of artists, over 40. We share this with you and we'll be giving your names backstage at that backstage Thank You Cam. Thank you very much.

Barney Burman: Happy anniversary, baby!
* “Il Divo” Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano
* “The Young Victoria” Jon Henry Gordon and Jenny Shircore
* “Star Trek” Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow (winner)

Sound Editing
* “Avatar” Christopher Boyes and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle
* “Inglourious Basterds” Wylie Stateman
* “Star Trek” Mark Stoeckinger and Alan Rankin
* “Up” Michael Silvers and Tom Myers
* “The Hurt Locker” Paul N.J. Ottosson (winner)

Sound Mixing
* “Avatar” Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson and Tony Johnson
* “Inglourious Basterds” Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti and Mark Ulano
* “Star Trek” Anna Behlmer, Andy Nelson and Peter J. Devlin
* “Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen” Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers and Geoffrey Patterson
* “The Hurt Locker” Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett (winner)

Visual Effects
* “District 9” Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros and Matt Aitken
* “Star Trek” Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh and Burt Dalton
* “Avatar” Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones (winner)

Congratulations to Marney Burman, Mindy Hall, and Joel Harlow.


  1. I thought that Zach Quinto should have been up for supporting actor. He delivered an exceptional performance as young spock. The screenplay should have been nominated. And plenty others.I don't know why they snubbed one of the best movies of the year.

  2. This comment has been removed by the author.

  3. Thanks for the post. It has helped me in understanding the concept.